Merry Xmas.
Thank you all for the chirstmas emails and greetings, it really means a lot to us!(you can tell because I'm using the blog to reply to every one of those emails right now) Of course I'm being feceious ma, chill(that was also feceious, feces is just flying all over the place today). And thank you SOOOOOOOO much Corrie for the card and gift, we really aprreciate it :)
Christmas itself was fairly uneventful and was spent on cramped train to Mumbai, but we managed to get out for some western comfort food and a pitcher of beer to celebrate. We bought each some little gifts and exchanged them around 3 am while we were waiting for the train. It was really cute, you would have loved it.
As the title may suggest, we've flown to Cambodia for yet another wonderful Christmas abroad. Of course I'm only Joking, we're in Mumbai(Bombay for you colonialists) and having a great time. I haven't actually seen much of the city since we arrived yesterday evening because I just spent the day as an extra in a Bollywood movie. I even got me 500 rupees for my time. We were approched by a man in our hotel not 15 minutes after we arrived and were asked to do some extra work the following day. Mumbai is like LA, it's the headquarters of the movie industry here in India, and they like using westerners as extras, probably because we're so cool. Amelia and Joanna were offered extra duty for Indian TV, but I can't speak on their behalf on how that went, you'll have to ask them yourselves.
The scene of the movie I was in was supposed to take place outside of Toronto University, after a graduation ceremony(go figure it takes place in Canada). I was asked if I could say a line to the main chracter in the movie, something a long the lines of "Here you go dude! this one's for you!" and hand him a framed copy of Time Magazine with him on the front and a headline that read "The most promising man of the year", as our classmates cheered and clapped themselves and us on the back. The picture of the dude on the magazine was hilarious, one of those portraits where the dude has his chin resting on his fist(like my grad photo, if you like to see that, I'm sure my mother would proudly show it off to you. I look like an evil genius...or Draco Malfoy, which ever you prefer.) When the actor saw it he laughed at it, and exclaimed "That's not me, I swear!" I guess even the actors know how cheesy BollyWood can be. They asked me to shave off my beard(three weeks for nothing) :( And then handed me a crappy razor and a bar of fruity soap, and I shaved without even cutting myself twice!. Anyway, the whole thing took about 45 minutes and was cool to be a part of. I didn't get to see any choreographed dancing or singing which was a bummer, but I met some sick travelers who I'm sure I'll run into again. The whole rest of the day was spent sitting around in a lobby talking to the other extras and waiting for the dude with the money. what a day.
That was my fifteen minutes of fame, I think the movie is called "Lucky Charm" or something like that. I do love leprechauns.
-Ben
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
Hey there Benjabollywoodboo, This one's for you! (No feces!)
But seriously I loooooove the Christmas Card from Indja! It smells fantastic! No kidding, it got all the way here and it smells just like India (minus the feces!) - Very exotic. Very sweet.
Thanks. We all love you. Me expecially, of course.
Love to Jo and Millie too!
Hey! Oh my gosh, the title of this blog completely threw me off... I didn't read it until now because i thought that you had sent a link to your previous blog or something.. Anyways, so awesome!! I wonder if we'll ever be able to get our hands on a copy of the movie..
Also, if you havn't yet received my email, thank you so much for the christmas card, i was so excited to open it, so cute!! And the perfume idea was amazing, only you ben.
Miss you guys so much!!
xoxoxox Jena
Post a Comment